V10 - The Blue Pearl

To help other builders, please list the boat you are building in the Thread Subject -- and to conserve space, please limit your posting to one thread per boat.

Please feel free to use the gallery to display multiple images of your progress.
isofuncurves
Frequent Poster
Frequent Poster

V10 - The Blue Pearl

Post by isofuncurves » Sat Jan 13, 2007 2:39 pm

Well, it is finally official. I started cutting ply the other day so it looks like this project is finally kicked off in earnest!! I plan to use this thread as my build log. Pictures for the build will be here:

http://boat.biopharmproject.com

I have never built a boat before and haven't done much of anything with my hands. If this boat floats when I'm done...anybody can do it.

So far I have transferred the dimensions to the 1/4-in ply, clamped two sheets together, and started cutting. I was reminded several times to flip one sheet over so the mirror side would be right. In my excitement to start cutting...I forgot.

I haven't ordered the epoxy and tape yet and I find myself wishing I had. It doesn't take long to cut the ply and I'd love to start assembling the bottom panels.

Regards,
Carl J. Hixon

jaygee
Frequent Poster
Frequent Poster

Post by jaygee » Sat Jan 13, 2007 5:33 pm

Hi Iso,

I saw your post and your location, and was curious where you got your plywood? I am about to start a canoe in a week or so.

Good luck
Jay

isofuncurves
Frequent Poster
Frequent Poster

Post by isofuncurves » Sat Jan 13, 2007 10:57 pm

Jaygee,
I picked up my plywood at Cut and Dry Hardwood in Solona Beach. http://www.cutanddry.com It isn't something that they normally stock but I called on a Wednesday at Noon and they called me Thursday and said it was ready for pickup. The gentleman that I talked to said that they don't sell much marine plywood but, he did have a customer recently build a cedar kayak. Here is what I paid for Okoume Mahog. Ply:

6mm $65.00
9mm $73.50
18mm $140.00