Poor Man's Vacuum Bagging By Evan Gatehouse

Post any and all methods for doing things here, if you think you have a good method, that you don't see most builders using
BB Sig
Very Active Poster
Very Active Poster

Poor Man's Vacuum Bagging By Evan Gatehouse

Post by BB Sig » Wed Jun 21, 2017 2:08 pm

Evan_Gatehouse wrote:
Wed Jun 21, 2017 1:14 pm
Hi,

I'm a designer of some of the bateau boats. I've also built some big vacuum bagged foam cored panels for the bridgedeck of my catamaran - about 8'x8' were laid up in one shot.

1. Cut up your foam for the hull
2. Do a test layup with some of the scrap foam first. Say 18-24"' square or so.
3. Don't use too much bag pressure. I used about 1/2 atmosphere and that was fine. Lots more vacuum and you suck the resin out, leaving a dry laminate. But this depends on the particular resin you use - slow resins less vacuum. hot day - more vacuum to get it bonded before resin gels.
4. Use a resin trap. I used a mason jar with holes in the lid.
5. I used cheap fabric store ripstop nylon for peel ply. Works fine but do clean the resulting surface afterward before bonding/painting as the fabric may have contaminents from the weaving process. Ugly colors are usually discounted :)
6. I used cheap polyester batting about 1/2" thick from the fabric store for the breather/bleeder layer. Worked fine
7. I used 4 mil builders plastic for the bag. Not very stretchy but o.k. Don't buy the very cheapest as it may have holes and drive you crazy
8. I used rolls of butyl mastic tape from Home Despot - used to stick windows in. Works quite well at sealing.

I don't think you have to use the fancy bagging materials sold by composite suppliers for most applications.
Posting just in case someone else needs the info.

Jaysen
* Bateau Builder *
* Bateau Builder *

Re: Poor Man's Vacuum Bagging By Evan Gatehouse

Post by Jaysen » Wed Jun 21, 2017 2:09 pm

How do you create the vacuum?

terrulian
* Bateau Builder *
* Bateau Builder *