What and where to foam

Share tips, suggest or request changes, anything that does not fit in the other categories.
Fuzz
* Bateau Builder - Expert *

What and where to foam

Post by Fuzz » Wed May 16, 2018 6:24 pm

There is a lot of debate going on now and in the past so I thought I would start this thread to get folks input.

Lots of folks foam in the whole bottom. Some want no foam below the water line and limber holes for draining. Both have their good and bad points. So what are you guys doing and why?

fallguy1000
Very Active Poster
Very Active Poster

Re: What and where to foam

Post by fallguy1000 » Thu May 17, 2018 12:40 am

Okay, my rig is foam and gets no buoyancy foam and I am no expert.

However, my Lund aluminum fishing boat jas foam.

The foam in it is well placed and it allows for drainage and it will not hold water in it.

That said; it takes a couple of days for the boat to dry out after a soaking rain. Not sure if the plywood floor is the culprit or the foam or a combo, but the boat is slower for sure.

Personally, I would try to foam those places where the boat can drain and I would avoid trapping water in the bilge.
My boat build is here -------->

viewtopic.php?f=12&t=62495

OneWayTraffic
Frequent Poster
Frequent Poster

Post by OneWayTraffic » Thu May 17, 2018 4:22 am

My experience from my build has me swearing to never foam a compartment with any penetrations, sealed or otherwise. I would foam under the sole, and then route all wiring etc under gunwales.

BarraMan

Post by BarraMan » Thu May 17, 2018 6:04 pm