Help me pick a boat, please!

Ask questions before buying our plans or request a new design. Anybody can post here
jbswear
Frequent Poster
Frequent Poster

Help me pick a boat, please!

Post by jbswear » Tue Sep 24, 2019 10:56 pm

(I hope this is the right place; didn't see an introduction section.)

Good evening!

I've been bitten by the boat building bug.

Background: I'm a hobbyist woodworker with a well-equipped shop. I enjoy building small boxes and the occasional piece of furniture. I know most of my skills won't be needed in building a simple boat, but some will help.

I live ten minutes from the Patuxent River in southern Maryland. I live twenty minutes from the Chesapeake Bay.

My wife isn't interested in fishing, but I am and my kids are. Sixteen, nine, and a newborn. So I want to build a semi-roomy fishing boat that will handle the slow river and the bay when it's calm.

Cost is a factor, as is space. I'd like a boat that can move efficiently on 20hp or less. I have an assembly space in my shop that's just big enough for a 19' and under boat. At most I'll have five people (my wife and kids), but that should be rare. Mostly just me and a kid or two. I don't care about speed. Fuel efficiency would be a plus.

The OD16 and OD18 have caught my fancy because they seem simple, spacious, and easily set up for fishing duty. I've read a few build threads on both and have already learned an amazing amount about boat building. I've also been studying simple catamarans and other small craft, all plywood construction.

I will likely build it with a tiller control for ease, cost, and efficiency. The boat will be stored exclusively on a trailer, under a cloth cover.

So, having said that, can you guys advise me on which boat would best meet my needs? Are there any questions I can answer to help narrow down the choices? I do see that the OD16 and 18 appear to be a popular beginner's project.

Thanks!

fallguy1000
Very Active Poster
Very Active Poster