Aquasport 246 from center console to pilot house!

Questions about boat repairs with our resins and fiberglass: hull patches, transoms and stringers, foam, rot etc.
bonz
Frequent Poster
Frequent Poster

Aquasport 246 from center console to pilot house!

Post by bonz » Mon Aug 23, 2010 7:02 pm

Well here we go.... I have a 1982 Aquasport 246ccp. And with a rotted deck and 1 blown outboard I set out to rebuild her. But THANK GOD my buddy Dave turned me onto this website before I did any real work. I was gonna just replace the deck. But with some coaxing from Dave and seeing the work done by some of the people on this site I'm seriously considering scraping the center console and adding a pilot house. I live in NJ and in Mar,apr,may,sept,oct, the cold Atlantic spray is no picnic.I'm not an engineer but with techniques and materials from this website I know it can be done. The only question is should it? This hull has a deep v 20 degree deadrise and a small beam. Will it rock to much from side to side with the pilot house? Should I use foam or plywood? Should this hull not have a pilot house? Thats just a few of the questions I've been asking myself for a week now. And I would really love to know what you guys out there think. Positive or negative please feel free to weigh in.....thx :roll:
Last edited by bonz on Mon Aug 23, 2010 8:49 pm, edited 2 times in total.

gstanfield
* Bateau Builder *
* Bateau Builder *

Re: Aquasport 246 from center console to pilot house!

Post by gstanfield » Mon Aug 23, 2010 7:28 pm

Greetings and welcome to the sickness :D I'll go ahead and tell you the first thing we tell everyone who wants to undergo a restoration / repair / transformation build. Pictures of the existing boat will help a ton in giving advice. some of the folks here are surely familiar with that hull and don't need pictures, but others may not know that exact hull so either way we like to see pictures :D