C12--swamping

Share tips, suggest or request changes, anything that does not fit in the other categories.
MADwand
Active Poster
Active Poster

C12--swamping

Post by MADwand » Fri Apr 29, 2005 3:29 am

Today I went to Pontchartrain with my C12. I am still learning to sail it as it handles completely different than my 19' Com-Pac. Started out fine even though waves were pretty steep and the boat was taking a pounding heading into the wind. I didn't have trouble till I was coming back and had the seas to my back while I was running. For some reason, I needed to do something at the bow. I headed into the wind and not knowing how to handle this boat well, I tightened the mainsheet and let the tiller go. I guess maybe I should have loosed the mainsheet and let the tiller go. Anyway, while I has at the bow for a split second, the boat turned and took a wave from the side and the whole thing went over, so fast I wasn't even aware that it had actually laid over til I was hanging vertically off the gunwale. I was aware, however, that my $50 solar/crank radio was slowly getting quieter as it sank to the bottom.